Visiting The Competition

Image

Peppers of Key West's tasting Bar

My husband and I after 8 years finally took a vacation sans children.  We went in a cruise form Miami to Key West then to Cozumel.  While sharing my plans with my boss Craig he brought up the fact that I was going to be near Peppers of Key West.  Duh!  Why didn’t I think of that.  I would have the chance to visit another Hot shop like ours.  I have not done that in years (there are very few Hot Shops left).  I started to get really excited about this.  They one thing I wanted to do in Key West was visit Peppers!

So when we docked in Key West I was a woman on a mission!  Armed with address, map, and a very indulgent husband we set out.  First off I was NOT going to tell them who I was.  Secondly, I was going to inflict upon their staff all of the stupid questions that are inflicted upon me such as, “What is your hottest hot sauce?”  Let me tell you entering a hot shop that is not Hot Licks is like entering the twilight zone for me, it’s the same but not that same.  And once I put aside my love for Hot Licks I was hooked, I love the Peppers store.  Peppers of Key West has a huge bar in the middle and the shelves line the surrounding wall.

Image

The Competition's sauce in MY fridge. LOL!

ImageAs I circled the bar the Merchandiser in me immediately started renovating and moving product around the store in my mind.  I had to get control of my wandering mind and focus!  Patricia (I hope that I remembered her name correctly) offered me a sample, I declined because it was Ring Of Fire (LOL), One of our best sellers and from San Diego like me!  On a second lap around the store Patricia offered me a sample again.  Here was my chance I could be just a regular customer.  I looked at Patricia, I got ready to speak and said, “Actually I work at Hot Licks in San Diego”.  She laughed, and I mentally kicked myself for blowing my cover, I really do not make a good spy.  Patricia was very helpful and my husband and I did eventually try the Peppers brand products and ended up buying Peppers of Key West Hot Sauce #2 My husband is quickly polishing the bottle off all by himself .  You see, I can’t use it because I kinda feel like I am cheating on my Hot Licks Serrano Extra Hot. I had expected them to have lots of east coast hot sauces that we do not carry at  Hot Licks, but I also ended up buying Cave Creek Beer Hot Sauce from Arizona (funny note: yesterday at Hot Licks I met a couple looking for that hot sauce who confessed they had also bought in at Peppers of Key West).

I did pick up some other goodies for the staff back at hot sauce and passed on the BBQ sauce I tried because although I loved it and my husband did not.  So if you are ever in Key West swing by Peppers of Key West and tell them I sent you.  And, Patricia, if you are ever in San Diego, stop buy and say hi!

~ by pepperprincess on April 10, 2012.

Leave a comment